Cheesy Beer Pulled Chicken

I hope you all had a great weekend! I spent the weekend in New Jersey because my best friend (who’s really more like a sister than a friend) got married yesterday! We met online, so our friendship has always been long distance. Of course, I would’ve been at her wedding no matter what, heck I would’ve gone overseas if that’s where her wedding took place! But because we don’t see each other as often as we’d like, being together on such an important day is particularly special. I’m not going to post a bunch of pictures because it was her wedding, not mine. But I do want to share one picture of  the gorgeous bride and myself. Oh and I caught the bouquet, so you know what that means… ;)

For some reason my train was 2 1/2 hours late this morning :( (I’ve taken the train between DC  and Newark 6 times now and it’s never even been a few minutes late until now) and I got home at 3:30 instead of 1:00. So my plans to go to the grocery store were scrapped and dinner ended up being pizza. But I wanted to share this recipe that I made last weekend but didn’t have the chance to blog about yet.  It’s easy (crock pot alert!), it’s delicious, and it will definitely become a regular at my house.

This was actually the second time I’ve made it. The first time, I followed the original recipe except for omitting some of the spices I didn’t have and using one less chicken breast. The second time, as I was mixing the spices, I spontaneously decided to make a few changes, and this time it was even better than my first try. You can use this chicken multiple ways, but I highly recommend putting it in tacos!

Cheesy Beer Pulled Chicken Tacos
*Serves 4 or more

You’ll Need

3-4 Boneless skinless chicken breasts (If you use 3, use slightly less of each spice than the recipe calls for)

1 bottle beer of choice (I used what I had on hand, Shiner Bock)

1 tablespoon chili powder

1 1/2 teaspoons cumin

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon onion powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

Shredded cheddar cheese

Desired taco toppings

Hard or soft taco shells

Directions

1. In a bowl, mix all the spices thoroughly

2. Place chicken breasts on a plate and rub both sides with the spice mixture (I used pretty much all of it, but amount is up to you)

3. Put chicken in the crock pot and pour entire bottle of beer over the chicken (I added a little water too and drained my chicken when I was done. That way there’s plenty of liquid so it cooks evenly but the tacos don’t get soggy)

4. Cook on low for 7-8 hours or on high for 4 hours. Shred the chicken as you cook it and once finished, drain in a collander if desired

5. If you’re not making this for a large group and you know there are going to be leftovers, I recommend adding the cheese as you use it. Just microwave the chicken and cheese slowly before serving. If you DO plan to finish it all at once, transfer the chicken to a large bowl and add cheese to taste. Toss it all together  so it melts and serve immediately. Enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes by Vanessa

One response to “Cheesy Beer Pulled Chicken

  1. Pingback: Finally Moved | L'épice de la Vie

Leave a Reply

