About: The Fashion Section

Why Am I Telling You What to Wear?

            Okay, so I’m not really going to tell anyone what to wear, that’s not what this blog is about. But it got your attention, didn’t it? Fashion is an extremely personal thing. What’s considered “haute couture” to some may seem absurd to others. So, with the exception of someone dressing entirely inappropriately for certain settings (i.e. church, work), I have a “to each their own” philosophy when it comes to what other people are wearing.  Yet here I am, writing a fashion column for my blog. So what is my goal other than to see my brilliant thoughts on the internet?

I’ve always loved clothes and fashion. I’m a girly girl through and through, and a love of clothes usually goes along with that. But I am by no means a fashion expert. A year ago, if I saw a cute black dress I liked, I’d buy the dress and wear just that. I wore jewelry, of course, but I didn’t really know how to accessorize beyond that. Scarves, belts, etc completely overwhelmed me. So I’ve been trying to work on that. Accessorizing can make a basic outfit like jeans and a t-shirt much more interesting. It can also make a limited wardrobe seem much larger because switching up accessories can make one outfit look like several. Since most of us aren’t celebrities with limitless shopping funds, this is a great skill to have.

Some of you may now be saying, “But Vanessa, fashion is all about outward appearance. Isn’t that kind of shallow?”

Of course there are more important things in life than what you’re wearing. But the fact is, humans make judgments based on appearance and bad first impressions are very hard to overcome. To say you’re not going to worry at all about the image you project to others because the outside shouldn’t matter is just naïve. There are a lot of great things about a person that someone else isn’t going to know when first meeting them. But your outward appearance is a way to control the image you project to others.

So that’s why I’m blogging about fashion. I’m still learning, but I can pass on what I know so far to others out there who are learning as well. I’m a real girl, on a real budget. And as my dad likes to say, I’m also not an “off the rack kind of girl.” I’m 5’2 ½, which is really short, and on top of that I have disproportionately short legs. My butt, according to my best friend, was meant for a black girl, and I will never have six pack abs. If I can manage to dress in a way that flatters my body and look like I spent more than I did, anyone can!

I hope you enjoy this column!

-Vanessa

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

