Getting Creative With Bagels

One of the best things about being proficient in the kitchen is trying combinations that sound bizarre but are absolutely delicious. Case in point: My mom makes a fabulous dish that consists of risotto topped with scallops and a vanilla bean, cognac, and bacon sauce. It doesn’t necessarily sound like it would taste good, does it? But my God it’s delicious!

Now, I’m not yet talented enough to recreate that recipe, but I do have some favorite concoctions I can share with you. I get a lot of ideas from other blogs I follow, especially Julie at Peanut Butter Fingers. “Bagelwiches” are something she blogs about a lot. They’re bagelthins (which are usually only 90-110 calories each!) with various ingredients sandwiched between them.  One of the first variations I tried was a whole wheat bagel thin with melted provolone cheese and raspberry jelly

I LOVE these for breakfast, lunch or a snack. And when I finally found cinnamon raison bagel thins at the grocery store, I stopped using the whole wheat ones for this particular combo. The cinnamon raison adds an extra something to this already delicious treat.

After trying the above bagelwich, I created one that was all my own. And I might actually like this one even better. Apple slices, melted provolone cheese, and cinnamon create a party in your mouth.

Now, if you’re craving something a little more savory, I have one last tried and true combination for you. it requires a little more work, but its really good.

You’ll Need:

Cream cheese

Spinach

Garlic powder

1 bagel thin (I recommend an “everything” bagel thin)

1. In a food processor or blender, combine spinach, garlic, and cream cheese and blend well. I didn’t measure this at all, just eyeballed it and added more until I had enough. But go easy on the garlic, you can always add more later.

2. Spread the spinach mixture on the bagel thin (toasted if desired) and enjoy!

Helpful Hint: I’m sure these are easiest to make in a toaster oven. But it can still be done even if, like me, you don’t have a toaster oven. Just toast the bagel thin to desired texture and place a slice of cheese on one half of the bagel as soon as it comes out of the toaster. press both halves of the bagel together until cheese is melted. then gently peel both halves apart and add jelly, apple slices, or whatever it is you’re adding. So get in the kitchen and have some fun!

-Vanessa

1 Comment

Filed under Creative Concoctions, Recipes by Vanessa

One response to “Getting Creative With Bagels

  1. I LOVE bagel thins! All the bagel taste without all the bagel calories! And Sandwich thins! Your combos sound delicious!

Leave a Reply

