Colored Denim

Well I don’t know about where you live, but since my last fashion post, Fall has  arrived in Indiana. And I couldn’t be happier! Although I was born in Indiana, I spent most of my life living in Texas. I had very little memory of what “real” winters are like. Needless to say, I was not thrilled about that aspect of my family’s move back to indiana. And the first winter was rough. But I’ve been in Indiana for three years now, and I’ve come to realize that I love living in a temperate climate. As much as I abhor winter, by the end of summer I’m pretty sick of warm weather as well. And really, there are just too many fabulous clothes out there for each season to only get to enjoy a few of them. At this point,  I’m not even sure I could go back to  living in Texas, where the four seasons are: almost summer, summer, still summer, and Christmas. But I digress…

I am so excited about the 60 degree temps. But my favorite part about Fall is, you guessed it, the clothes! And one trend that is going to be huge this Fall is colored denim. I don’t mean trading up your blue jeans for black or grey, I’m talking colors straight out of a crayola box:

Source

Now I know what you’re thinking, “I’m not a celebrity or a runway model, I can’t pull those off!” But I’m here to tell you that you can. I’ve had my eye on this trend for awhile, but colored denim isn’t something you can find in just any clothing store, and I also was unsure whether I could pull it off. But at the end of August, I was in Chicago for a girls’ trip and I happened upon a pair of red jeans in Nordstrom’s. I decided to try them on, and it was love at first sight. They were absurdly cheap for being from Nordstroms (being in the junior’s department helped), so I bought them! I wasn’t sure exactly what I would wear with them with- other than black- but I was confident I’d figure that out with time and a little help from the internet. And now I can pass what I learned on to you. Read on for four ways to wear your red jeans.

Admittedly, Red is not the most versatile color in the world. At first pass, grey and black seem like the only colors you can wear with it. And unless you want to look like you’re begging for attention or trying to wear an outfit from a fashion show that wasn’t actually meant to be worn in public, those three colors are pretty much your only options. But there are ways to give basic red and black a little extra…je ne sais quoi.

Option 1. Red jeans and a basic black t-shirt works, but can be kind of dull. With the right accessories though, you have an outfit that makes people look twice…Might I recommend leopard print?

Skinny Jeans: Love Fire, Nordstroms
Leopard flats: Aerosoles, DSW

Option 2: This is one of my favorite combinations because it’s so comfy and cute. Again, I’m doing basic black and red with an accessory that makes it look put together instead of just thrown together

Long cardigan: Mossimo, Target (bought last Winter)

Option 2. instead of a solid shirt, try pairing your red jeans with a graphic tee in black, white, and/or grey colors

Graphic Tee: Anne Taylor Loft (here’s a closer look)

Option 3. If you want a slightly dressier look, add a blazer with the sleeves rolled up, and you’ve got an outfit that’s both trendy and effortlessly chick

Blazer: Calvin Klein, Macy’s
(Side note: I spent this summer as an intern in DC and had to dress very formally. I definitely don’t make a habit of buying designer clothes)

So there you go! A bold item like red jeans really can work into your everyday wardrobe. Also, if you like the colored denim trend but you’re not quite ready to commit to red, some of the other shades like cobalt blue are a little more versatile and slightly less daunting. Or you could always fake it til you make it. When you feel great in an outfit, it shows!

3 Comments

Filed under Trend Alert : How to Wear It

3 responses to “Colored Denim

  1. I’m definitely loving the coloured denim trend right now, so simple and brightens any outfit! Jen xoxo http;//mystylisticlife.wordpress.com

  2. I love coloured denims! I’m so glad the trend is catching on – you look great in yours! My favourite are the cobalt ones, paired with floral or animal prints!
    http://www.themarkethipster.com

Leave a Reply

