Souped Up

I’m all about making things from scratch and trying to rely, mostly, on fresh foods. However, I know that sometimes life gets in the way and we have to rely on shortcuts. But that doesn’t mean that those shortcuts can’t taste homemade!

I know grilled cheese and tomato soup is a classic…but the great thing about classics is that you can remix them!

So here’s my take on the classic tomato soup and grilled cheese. Trust me, once you modify the soup it will taste homemade!

**Initially, Military Man intended to have some of his leftovers for dinner. I had him do a taste test on the soup to see if I was right on with my additions and after trying it he asked, “Can I have grilled cheese and soup for dinner too??”**

“Can’t Believe It’s from a Can” Zesty Tomato Soup

Ingredients:

-1 can of Zesty Tomato Bisque soup (I’ve only amped up this soup before so I can’t say whether this particular mix of spices would work on a different brand or flavor)

-4 shakes of Hot Sauce (I recommend Texas Pete!)

-1/2 tsp of Nature’s Seasons (AH-mazing spice blend…I put it on everything. Fries, peas, spinach, chicken, etc)

-1 tsp Gahlic Powdaaa

1. Pour one can of soup into a blender or food processor.

2. Add hot sauce, Nature’s Seasons and garlic powder and pulse until combined.

So now that you’ve got your soup how about some grilled cheese to go along with it?

Great Grilled Cheese

~If you choose to use regular bread over sandwich thins then this recipe will not be as low cal, but if you’re worried about flavor, don’t be. This may be a low cal version of grilled cheese but it tastes nothing like cardboard. PROMISE!~

Ingredients:

-1 sandwich thin

-2 heaping TBS shredded cheese of your choice (I recommend shredded because it melts easily)

-1 TB garlic hummus

-1 pat of butter

Recipe Note: This is pretty low cal but I’ve included real butter. If you wish to cut calories non-stick cooking spray would work as a substitute. Frankly, I need that buttery, crispy crunch on my grilled cheese. Plus, I live in close proximity to Paula Deen and if I don’t use butter at some point I’m fairly certain she can expel me from the South.

1. Melt butter in a pan on medium/high heat and add the sandwich thin. Move it around so it soaks up the buttery goodness.

2. Add cheese and distribute between both sides. Leave on the skillet until melted, then remove from heat.

3. Spread hummus on one side and press both sides together.

4. ENJOY!

The soup tastes phenomenal and crazy close to homemade. The touch of hot sauce adds a warmth which makes the soup even better for cold, crisp fall evenings. The hummus takes the grilled cheese from mundane to extraordinary! A quick, healthy meal! And the hummus adds more protein for filling power! (Not to mention crazy good flavor!)

-This was a delicious meal for me, however, Military Man needed a little more food. I used regular bread for his sandwich and included crackers to go with his soup.-

Bon Appetit!

-Brittany

Leave a comment

Filed under Creative Concoctions, Healthy Living, On the Menu, Recipes by Brittany

Leave a Reply

