“Feel Good Cream of Mushroom Chicken & Rice”

For the last two nights, I’ve had so much homework that I’ve had leftovers for dinner- and ate them directly out of the leftover container. not very glamorous, I know. But that’s the life of a college senior taking 18 credit hours. Thankfully, I don’t have any classes on Fridays, so Thursdays I take a break from homework. Tonight I’m catching up on all the TV I had to record because I was busy doing homework (welcome back prime time TV!). And I also desperately wanted to make a real meal.

Tomorrow is the first official day of Fall! And while the temperatures don’t quite reflect that yet, I decided to celebrate with a warm feel good recipe that’s so good and super easy. I got this recipe from my best friend and it never fails to hit the spot. The only change I made is using canned mushrooms instead of sauteing fresh ones (I’m rarely that ambitious). And I bake the chicken instead of cooking it in a skillet because it just seems easier to me. I’ll stop yammering on now and just give you the recipe.

Ingredients

3 Boneless skinless chicken breasts  ( You’ll probably need more soup if you use more chicken)

2 cans cream of mushroom soup

1 can/jar mushrooms or fresh mushrooms to taste (optional)

1 box brown or white rice

Seasonings to taste (I used garlic powder, onion powder, black pepper, and adobo per my friend’s recommendation)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2. Rinse chicken breasts and place in a bowl or on a plate. Season the chicken with seasonings of your choice and gently rub them into the chicken. Then flip the breasts and repeat on the other side (I did this by sight, so I don’t have any measurements for you). Then , if you can stand to wait, let the chicken sit in the fridge for 15 minutes or so.

3. In a bowl, combine soup, mushrooms (drain the mushrooms if you’re using canned), enough water to loosen the soup, and mix well. I like a lot of soup on my chicken, so I used two cans of soup for three chicken breasts. But it’s really a matter of taste.

4. Place chicken breasts in an oven safe dish and pour the soup over the chicken. Cover the dish with foil and bake for 45 minutes.

5. While the chicken is baking, prepare the rice according to the directions on the box and set aside

6. When the chicken has 15 minutes left, remove foil and continue baking

7. When the chicken is done, serve over rice and enjoy!

Fall means the return of pumpkin spice lattes, plaid pajama pants, prime time TV, and blessedly cool temperatures. I can’t wait! I know I’ll be making this dish a lot more this Fall, and I hope you all enjoy it!

Question of the night: Which returning or new TV shows are you most looking forward too/ already enjoying this Fall?

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes by Vanessa

One response to ““Feel Good Cream of Mushroom Chicken & Rice”

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Gnocchi Soup « L'épice de la Vie

Leave a Reply

