A Lunch to look forward to

Now that I’m EMPLOYED(!!!!!), I get to make healthy lunches every day. I have some requirements for any lunch, it has to be portable, delicious and filling. I want a lunch that I’m excited to eat. If you pack yourself a good, quality lunch, you’ll be less likely to hit up the vending machine or scrap the whole thing for fast food.

When it comes to midday meals I prefer a bigger lunch and a smaller dinner. In my excitement of being employed again I decided to prep my lunch for Monday.

Before I get to what I prepped for myself, here are a few lunch ideas that are filling, delicious and travel well:

-Tuna Fish salad

-Waldorf Salad

-Chicken Salad

-Egg Salad

-A sandwich version of any of the aforementioned salads

-A regular MEGA salad (a salad with your favorite fixins)

-Taco Chicken Salad

-Tacos (easy to assemble and eat!)

-Peanut Butter and Banana sandwich (Or PB&J)

-Turkey (or other deli meat) sandwich

-Veggie Wrap (meat can easily be added)

-Leftover Pasta (Italian food always gets better overnight!)

-Leftover Lasagna

-Fried Rice or Stir Fry

-Grilled Chicken (in sandwich or tenders form, just cook up a breast or strips the night before and reheat!)

Great Sides/Snacks: potato salad, almonds, crackers, hummus (with cracker or veggies), celery and PB, baked chips, popcorn (with assorted toppings, Salt, butter, chocolate chips, nutritional yeast), rice, pudding cups, trail mix, granola bar, any fruit or veggie!!

Mondays are usually the bain of the workweek, but a delicious and filling lunch can make any Monday brighter!

I’m looking forward to a delicious Tuna Salad! I love tuna because it can be made in SO many ways. I like my tuna salad with lots of flavor and crunch! Definitely not your traditional tuna salad.

Brittany’s Favorite Tuna Salad

-2 cans of tuna (in water, NEVER oil!)

-1 cup of grapes (I slice mine lengthwise, cause I’m picky)

-2 stalks of celery chopped up (any way you prefer, I prefer mine in slices)

-Nature’s Seasons

-Garlic Powder

1. Slice celery and grapes

2. Drain tuna and add

3. Mix well and season to taste

You’re probably wondering, “Where’s the mayo?! The relish?!”

Well remember, this is for a lunch! And it’s enough for several lunches! So my suggestion to you, wait to add the mayo until you are packing up everything to take with you.  Add mayo as you prefer (I don’t have an exact measurement)

Mix it well and add a TB of mustard. The mustard gives it a nice kick and makes up for the lack of relish. The celery adds a great crunch, and the grapes add a burst of sweetness.

If you are hesitant to stray from your standard Tuna Salad recipe, this is a great “gateway” recipe.  I’ve got another Tuna Salad recipe that involves honey and cinnamon…..but that’s another fish for another day!

Wondering what to do with the tuna water?

Midnight will be HAPPY to take it off your hands!! (Military Man’s kitty cat, pretty much the nicest cat I’ve ever met!)

Bon Appetit!

-Brittany

Leave a comment

Filed under Creative Concoctions, Healthy Living, Recipes by Brittany

Leave a Reply

