Head over Heels [For Fall Footwear]

Sorry this post is a little behind the times, this was yet another post that was written during our hiatus. But even though it’s no longer Fall, it’s only going to get colder out. So really, it’s still quite relevant 🙂

Being only 5’2″ and a girly girl, I love heels as much as the next girl. But sometimes you just want to be able to walk around campus, run errands, or go out with friends without worrying about your feet hurting. Unfortunately, it’s rare when fashion meets function, especially when it comes to shoes. But this Fall (and for several previous years) there’s a shoe that possesses this rare combination. Hello riding boots!

source

Riding boots are comfortable, versatile, and totally chic. I’ve wanted a pair of riding boots for about three Falls now. Haha! Unfortunately, most of them are quite expensive. But a few weeks ago, I finally picked up my first pair during a ridiculously good sale at Kohl’s. They’re not real leather, but it’s an impressively good imitation. And I’m absolutely in love with them.

Here’s another view of the detailing on the boot

Boots: Sonoma, Kohl’s $47.99 (current sale price at time of post, originally $79.99)

These boots look great with leggings, tucked in or under jeans, and with skirts. I wear them all. The. Time. And while they are definitely hot for Fall, these boots will work right through Winter as well. In fact, I recommend buying them slightly big so you can wear them with thicker socks in cold weather. Especially if you go for a non leather pair. Now, I know there are lots of boot styles out there, but one of my favorite things about this style (aside from the fact that they’re flat) is that they add a little something to an outfit, taking basic jeans and a sweater to the next level.

Because riding boots are often pricey, I opted for basic black that will go with everything. But I’ve been seeing cognac boots everywhere and I love the way they look with dark denim. Imagine my delight when I found an extremely affordable pair at Target. Admittedly, they’re obviously lower quality than my black pair despite both being faux leather. But for a trendy item that I may not wear as often, that doesn’t bother me.

Boots: Target, $34.99

I paired these with dark jeans, a white sweater, and gold accessories for an outfit that was simple, cozy, and stylish all at once. I’m sure I’ll come up with other ways to wear these boots, but pairing them with jeans and a sweater is an outfit I will definitely be repeating this Fall and Winter. I just recently convinced my mom to buy a pair of riding boots as well! These aren’t going out of style any time soon, and I promise you’ll wear them to death!

XO,
V

Leave a comment

Filed under Trend Alert : How to Wear It

Leave a Reply

