The Easiest Chocolate Cake You’ll Ever Make

Ever since I started following blogs, especially cooking blogs, I’ve discovered some incredibly creative bloggers with amazing recipes that I never in a million years would have come up with on my own. That’s what I love about the blogging community. And this post contains the easiest, yummiest, most creative recipe I have yet to come across. This little beauty comes from Katie at Chocolate Covered Katie.

Have you ever found yourself hit by an intense craving for chocolate at 10 o’clock at night (or at least after you’ve already changed into your comfy clothes and nothing short of a fire is going to make you leave your house)? But alas, you don’t have ice cream, cookies, or candy of any kind in your kitchen. Yep, been there, done that. And until now, you just had to ignore it. But not anymore! I present to you One Minute chocolate Cake! This recipe can be vegan, gluten free, sugar free, and/or fat free if you so choose. See the original recipe if you want it to be made one of the above ways. I already had all 9 of these ingredients on hand, even though I don’t bake very often. So chances are good you do as well!

You’ll Need

1 tablespoon plus 2 tsp cocoa powder

3 tablespoons flour

1/8 tsp salt

3 tsp sugar

1/4 tsp baking powder

1 tablespoon coconut oil or vegetable oil

3 tablespoons milk

1/4 tsp pure vanilla extract

1. in a bowl, combine all the dry ingredients and mix very well

2. Add the wet ingredients and stir

Now here’s the beauty of this recipe…

3. Transfer the batter to a small microwaveable dish (even a coffee mug will work). If you don’t want to eat it out of this container, grease the dish first.

4. Microwave the cake for 30-40 seconds. Seriously, that’s it! The cake is delicious, hot, and moist. it’s almost like a really easy imitation souffle.

The first time I made this recipe, I followed the recipe exactly. The second time I made it, two things happened:

1. I decided to try substituting 1 Tbs of agave syrup for the regular sugar because it’s a low glycemic index food (meaning your body absorbs it slowly, minimizing blood sugar spikes) and because it’s sweeter than table sugar, so you can use less of it. It worked!

2. I was going too fast and forgot to mix the dry ingredients together before adding the wet ones. I figured I’d see what happened instead of wasting the ingredients and starting over. Luckily, it turned out exactly the same as last time. So there’s one less step you have to follow!

3. Also, adding chocolate chips makes this kind of like a molten chocolate cake

Enjoy!

XO,
V

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes by Vanessa

Leave a Reply

