Post-Thanksgiving Bliss

I don’t know about you but Thanksgiving was AMAZING this year. My parents are divorced and one benefit is multiple holiday celebrations. I spent Thanksgiving Eve with my dad and Thanksgiving day with my mom’s family. Military Man joined us and it was a wonderful holiday!

Above is the food spread from my Aunt’s house (not pictured: appetizer table, dessert table, yes…we need multiple tables to hold all of the bounty!)

I know we’ve had a bit of time to recover from Thanksgiving festivities and by now, the leftovers are (hopefully) a thing of the past. But with Christmas just around the corner, I’d be remiss if I didn’t offer a simple Holiday appetizer that is sure to please almost every palate! I brought this to Thanksgiving with my mom’s family and it disappeared!

 

It is SIMPLE and delicious. It rivals any fancy schmacy appetizer, and saves you time in the kitchen without sacrificing flavor.

Sweet and Savory Goat Cheese Dip

What you’ll need:

-16 ounces of goat cheese (2 8 ounce logs)

-Honey

-Dried Cranberries

-Garlic Powder

-Onion Powder

-Pita chips or Crackers

For the sweet version:

Take 8 ounces of goat cheese and add it to a bowl. Add honey (est. 3 TBS) and mix in well until the goat cheese becomes creamy (add more honey to taste if needed) Then add in 1/4 c of dried cranberries (or more depending on your preference) and mix until incorporated.

For the savory version:

Take the remaining 8 ounces of goat cheese and add to a new bowl. Add Garlic and Onion powder (approx. 2 tsps each) and mix well. Adjust seasonings to taste.

You can either leave each of them in the bowl (or transfer to a fancy serving bowl) OR you can pour (scrape) the goat cheese onto wax paper or saran wrap and shape into a log. Place in the refrigerator and it will return to its former firm consistency.

If you want to be super fancy you can make your own goat cheese (like I did last Christmas!) And plan on doing again at some point…I’ll be sure to post the recipe here!

This is be no means a revolutionary recipe but it is pretty darn good! The dried cranberries add a sweetness with a hint of tartness that combines well with the creamy honey. And adding garlic and onion powder to goat cheese is a no brainer for me. Adding it to an omelette would be HEAVENLY.

I promise this will be a hit at any Holiday party! My family devoured it!

Hope you have a great week!

-Brittany

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

