A Belated Thanksgiving

I’ve been really busy lately. I have to write  down pretty much anything that  need to remember or I never will. But I can’t believe that I totally forgot to post a Thanksgiving recap! I mean it is a food blog. So this is kind of late, but I didn’t want to skip posting one altogether. And here’s why

I made a dish for the first time ever!

I started my first blog right after the holidays last year, and I’ve been cooking more and more ever since. So I thought hey, why don’t I ever make anything for Thanksgiving? I texted my mom and to ask if I could bring something and she said sure! We already had three desserts on the menu and my mom always makes the main dishes, so I decided to make a side dish. I searched recipes online and finally settled on this Martha Stewart recipe for Butter Pecan Sweet Potatoes .  I followed the recipe almost exactly and they were a hit with those who tried them (there are some picky eaters in my family). My grandma informed me that she had seconds 🙂

You’ll Need:

8 medium sweet potatoes*

2 Tbs olive oil (I didn’t actually measure this, I just eyeballed it as I drizzled the potatoes)

coarse salt to taste

2 Tbs butter, cut into small pieces

2 Tbs light brown sugar*

1/3 cup pecan pieces

1/8 tsp cayenne pepper

* Because we already had so many dishes, my mom recommended I only buy 4 potoatoes and pick out the biggest ones I could find. We ended up having leftovers. And honestly, I was relieved to only have four potatoes to peel!

 * If I made this again, I think I’d use more brown sugar. The pecans got carmelized, but the potatoes not so much

1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Peel potatoes and halve lengthwise; slice crosswise 1/2 inch thick. On a baking sheet, toss potatoes with olive oil; season with coarse salt.

2) Transfer half the potatoes to a second baking sheet; cook both sheets until potatoes are tender, tossing occasionally, 25 to 30 minutes.
3) Sprinkle with butter, brown sugar, pecan pieces, and cayenne pepper, dividing evenly. Bake until sugar is caramelized and hard, about 10 minutes. Gently toss; serve immediately.

All done!

These were delicious, and could even be made on days other than Thanksgiving. I’ll leave you with a few other pictures from my family’s Thanksgiving

 “I swear, the turkey was *this* big!”


My brother is pre-med. Unsurprisingly, he didn’t just carve the turkey,
he fully dissected it

 Classic pumpkin pie, pumpkin pecan pie, and chocolate cake. Yum!

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving with family and/or friends!

XO,
V

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes by Vanessa

Leave a Reply

