Lazy Pizza

Sometimes an experiment in the kitchen just works! Although this ingredient combo isn’t particularly daring, I had no idea how it was going to turn out. And as someone who’s still finding her way around the kitchen, I’m always unsure of what to expect when I’m not following a recipe at all. Needless to say, I was extremely excited when this “recipe” turned out even better than I’d hoped.  On top of being delicious, it’s also super easy (I’m talking less than 15  minutes prep and cook time!), fairly inexpensive, and versatile to boot. I was inspired by a delicious pesto flatbread pizza I found at Trader Joe’s when I was in DC this summer. I decided to try to recreate it at home, especially since I was pretty sure I could make it incredibly simple and fast.

I bought a Boboli whole wheat pizza crust. I’d never used a premade pizza crust, I usually use my mom’s trick of buying frozen white bread dough, letting it defrost, then rolling it out into a pizza crust. But that takes some work and advance planning. Julie over at PB Fingers blogged about Boboli pizza crusts after trying one for the first time, so I gave it a shot. I spread Bertoli pesto (note: pre made pesto is cheaper and more convenient, but it does contain a lot of preservatives)  over the crust, then topped it with diced tomatoes (I bought them pre diced at the grocery store because I really suck at chopping tomatoes and it saves time), spinach, and precooked chicken breast strips

Then I topped everything with lots of mozzarella cheese, baked it at 450 degrees for a mere 10 minutes, and I had a delicious pizza that was cheaper than ordering a pizza and much yummier than a frozen pizza.

I’m already thinking of all kinds of other toppings combinations like BBQ (BBQ sauce, chicken, and cheddar cheese), BLT (spinach, tomatoes, chicken, bacon, cheddar cheese), or traditional marinara sauce, pepperoni, and mozzarella cheese. I will definitely be making this again. I had quite a bit of homework tonight and neither the prep or clean up took up too much of my time. score!

Question of the night: What ingredient combination would you use to make lazy pizza?

Leave a comment

Filed under Creative Concoctions, Recipes by Vanessa

Leave a Reply

