The #1 Secret to Making your Clothes Look More Expensive

I’ve talked before about mixing pricier items with cheap trendy items in order to get the most out of your clothes for the least amount of money. But I have one trick that I use more than other others. It will make your inexpensive clothes look more expensive, and who doesn’t want that?!

there’s a reason why the clothes you find at Target and Kohl’s are so much cheaper than brand names like Chanel, Christian Louboutin, etc. It’s because they’re mass produced. And because they’re mass produced, they’re not going to fit everyone perfectly, or even well. I know this struggle all too well. I have a tiny waist, fuller hips and butt, and disproportionately short legs. As my dad puts it, I’m not an off the rack kind of girl. I could let this totally frustrate me and just give up on wearing cute clothes. Instead, I alter a lot of my clothes. I’m not talking about spending tons of money at a tailor either, oftentimes, I can do the alterations myself at home or for very cheap.

one thing I always pay to have altered professionally are my pants. As I’ve said, my legs are really short. My best friend and I are the exact same height, but her legs are much longer than mine. Even petite length pants are usually way too long for me. I know I’m not the only one with this problem, because I see girls everywhere with their pant legs cuffed, or worse, dragging on the ground. Not much makes a pair of pants look worse than when the hems are torn, frayed, and dirty. Granted, I live in a city with a very low cost of living, but I found an alterations place that only charges $9 to shorten a hem.  I don’t buy pants all that often, making this really affordable. Occasionally, I also have skirts and dresses shortened. When something really flatters you, it looks more expensive. It’s that simple.

There are also plenty of minor alterations that I can do at home (or with my mom’s help 🙂 ) which make a big difference. Here’s a prime example. I found a cropped leopard print faux fur jacket at Kohl’s that I instantly fell in love with. I had a great coupon and it was on sale, so I snatched it up. There was just one minor issue, it had these two huge gaudy buttons that I hated.

Faux fur jacket: Heart & Soul, Kohl’s $61.60 (sale price at time of purchase)

I could have just ignored the buttons, or not purchased it at all. Instead, I cut off the buttons. Then, even though it was barely noticeable, I asked my mom to sew the button holes closed (What would I do without her? I can’t sew to save my life!).

I knew I was never going to button up this style of jacket, so those ugly buttons were especially pointless (sidenote: I think most cropped jackets look better when left open. But that doesn’t mean you always have to cut the buttons off. As long as you like them,  leave them alone 🙂 )

Here’s another example. I really like this shirt, but it came with a self tie belt that I didn’t like very much, plus it looked odd when it was tied. So I simply cut the belt off and used my own belt to define my waist. this particular trick can be used quite often. Just make sure you’re always going to wear a belt with that top or cut the belt with super sharp scissors and cut as close to the shirt as possible to avoid leaving frayed material behind

Leave a comment

Filed under What to Wear?

Leave a Reply

