His and Her Meals

When I started writing this post, I had no idea how appropriate it would be.

Initially, this was going to be your basic “how to keep meals balanced while in a relationship” especially if you’re trying to stay healthy. WELL, as of December 16th I will have to create his and hers meals for the rest of my life!  I’m getting married to my best friend, my partner in crime, my better half, my puzzle piece, my soul mate.

I’m OVER THE MOON! It was a special surprise proposal; he really did his best to throw me off cause I’m very sneaky and curious! I always joke that I got a bachelor’s in Nosiness (or Journalism if you prefer) And I’m a VERY hard person to surprise!

I’m overjoyed! And I can’t wait to transition from recipes for one to recipes for 2 different tastes! In the meantime, here’s my original post:

It’s been well documented that while in relationships, women tend to gain weight. And I’m sure there are many women who can attest to this fact! Myself included!

One of the hardest things to do is create a meal that is healthy, delicious and nutritious! Especially when you have to make something that appeals to someone with VERY different taste buds.

I’m totally happy munching on nothing but vegetables, whereas Military Man would not be happy crunching on cauliflower and cauliflower alone.

So how do you transition your significant other to eating healthier foods and, by proxy, keep your own health in check?

Start simple!

Military Man loves Italian food so I’ve been making the switch from white pasta to whole grain and veggie pasta. The taste difference is minute. Now there are different pasta sauces out there that contain a “hidden” serving of vegetables, and they taste just as good as the regular non-veggie sneaking sauce. Plus Low Fat Ricotta Cheese is all the flavor with half the calories and fat!

More examples of his and her meals:

  

His: two eggs over medium, 1 biscuit, and a strawberry banana smoothie

Hers: 1 egg and 1 egg white, scrambled with spinach & mushrooms, with a dash of Texas Pete and Nature’s Seasons! (not pictured: 1 ginormous smoothie with spinach, banana, berries and protein powder)

Smoothies are a great way to sneak in veggies and fruits for even the pickiest of taste buds! For Military Man, the key is a smoothie that matches the taste and consistency of a milkshake. And with ripe fruit and a tasty protein powder, it is easy to create a sweet smoothie. (But if your fruit lacks ripeness and you find your smoothie lacking, add 1 TB of agave nectar or honey!)

If you’re in a relationship, do your eating habits match up with your significant other’s? If you’re single, how do you create a menu for dinner guests?

Have a great week!

-Brittany

Leave a comment

Filed under Creative Concoctions, Gratuitous Boo, Healthy Living, Recipes by Brittany

Leave a Reply

