Expect the Unexpected

When you’re learning something new, you’re bound to make mistakes. And as we’ve established, I had to learn a lot when I first started cooking. There was an ill-fated attempt at making a Barefoot Contessa macaroni & cheese recipe  (before I discovered my favorite mac & cheese recipe of course). That recipe taught me that I’m not very good at making a roux, nearly ruined nutmeg for me, and wasted $8 of gruyere cheese. Then there was my first attempt at frying rather than scrambling an egg…Let’s just say I suck at cracking an egg without breaking the yolk! But thankfully, I haven’t had very many utter disasters in the kitchen. I guess that could mean I play it safe, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing considering how expensive cooking can get. Today, however, I added to my list of kitchen failures.

I got my Pinterest account quite awhile ago. But at the time, I was so busy that I didn’t have time to figure it out. I’ve since gotten the hang of it and I’m obsessed! Yesterday, I found a recipe for Dr. Pepper Cupkcakes. Holy yum! They sounded pretty simple and delicious, so I decided to give them a try.

Yep, that's all you need!

You’ll Need

1 box chocolate cake mix

1/2 cut butter

3 eggs

1 cup Dr. Pepper

Side note: Because I have a habit of googling things I don’t know much about, I googled soda cupcakes. Supposedly, you can get the same result using just the soda and the cake mix. But I’m skeptical.

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2. Melt butter and combine in a bowl with all other ingredients

3. Mix well and spoon into cupcake liners

4. Bake for 15 minutes (the recipe says 12 minutes, but mine took longer)

My kitchen has almost no counter space, making a multi-step recipe like this challenging. I also made the mistake of trying to continue working while on the phone with my mom…I knocked over both a jar of maraschino cherries and a bottle of vanilla extract while making these. Oops! But other than that, everything went smoothly and the cupcakes turned out great. Skipping the oil and subbing Dr. Pepper for water creates the softest moistest cupcakes I’ve ever had! The  frosting on the other hand, was a complete disaster. The recipe called for several ingredients that I would rarely if ever use again (what the heck are grated licorice pipes?!) so I decided to leave those out. But the taste actually turned out pretty darn good. The problem was that the recipe didn’t come with any measurements for the frosting, it just said to throw stuff in until you got something you liked (not something any novice baker wants to hear!). I made way too much and the consistency was completely wrong 😦 If this is your first time making your own frosting, I definitely wouldn’t attempt this recipe.  But if you’re feeling adventurous, here you go:

You’ll Need

Butter

Powdered sugar

Dr. Pepper

Maraschino cherry juice

Vanilla extract

Finely ground black pepper

Nutmeg

So I do have delicious chocolate cupcakes, they’re just a little plain without any frosting. But hey, that’s how you learn! And now, on to bigger and better things. Remember that big news I mentioned in my 2011 recap post?

Well, I can finally announce…I’m moving to Virginia in February! I didn’t want to tell my employer anything until I had solid plans, and I thought they should hear it from me first. So until now, I’ve kept mum about my move on Facebook. And it’s been driving me insane! I wanted to shout from the rooftops how excited I am! Today, I finally gave notice that my last day will be February 10th.

So why am I moving? I have a job waiting for me in Washington DC! I’m not going to reveal who my employer is, but I will say that the job is on Capitol Hill. I am so beyond excited that I finally found my passion and that I’m going to have my first “big girl job”  before I even graduate despite attending three different schools, changing my major three times, and taking 6 years to finish college! When I started college with a double major in English and religion, I never could have imagined where my life would end up 6 years later…Expect the unexpected 😉

I already have an apartment (I was apartment hunting in virginia this past week, that’s why I mysteriously stopped posting for a few days. LOL) and the kitchen is fabulous! Brace yourselves, because that kitchen and this blog are going to get even more action once I move!

XO,

V

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes by Vanessa

One response to “Expect the Unexpected

  1. Pingback: God Bless Pinterest « L'épice de la Vie

Leave a Reply

