Eating Simply: Day 2

On Thursday, I posted about trying to use up the stuff in my pantry and fridge and how I came up with the idea for marinara sauce, gnocchi, and ricotta cheese. Well Friday night I worked until 9:00 so I warmed up some leftover pumpkin gnocchi soup when I got home. Saturday, my brother and his girlfriend were in town for an event that ended up getting cancelled due to weather, so the three of us went out for dinner and a movie. And Sunday night, I made the same thing as Thursday night but with ravioli instead of gnocchi. So tonight was the first time since Thursday that I made something new (FYI: I wrote this Monday night but I’m posting it Tuesday because yesterday was Brittany’s turn to post). And that inspired me to do a series of posts instead of just one about how I’m making due with what I already have on hand.

I think this is something a lot of people can benefit from. It doesn’t have to be because you’re moving and you need to clean out your pantry. Maybe you’ve realized that you eat out or pick things up at the grocery store way too often considering how well stocked your kitchen is. Or maybe you’re just in the mood for something simple and you need a little inspiration. So for the next few days, I’ll post about what I’ve managed to make without going to the store. There won’t be a post every day between now and when I move, because I’m sure at some point I’ll have to order a pizza or buy a couple things at the store. But hopefully you all will find this interesting and/or helpful.

Breakfast:

For breakfast this morning, I made myself a “wafflewich.” I got the idea recently, and man are they good! It’s been a long time since I had frozen waffles and I forgot how good they are. Frozen waffles aren’t the healthiest thing in the world, so it’s not something I make all the time. But every once in awhile it’s a nice change from english muffins or bagels.

To make this sandwich, I toasted a whole grain waffle and topped it with a slice of cheddar cheese and a fried egg (I broke the yolk but didn’t scramble the eggs). Yum!

I also had a cup of coffee. I got a $25 Starbucks gift card for Christmas, but I’ve been using my Keurig maker so often that I just finished off my gift card a couple days ago. Yay for saving money and still getting great coffee 🙂

Lunch: 

I know this is bad, but I skipped lunch. I was busy today with move-related phone calls, laundry, and homework so I ended up snacking instead. Tomorrow I’ll do better!

Dinner:

Dinner was inspired by a really simple pasta recipe I saw on Pinterest. The recipe called for some ingredients I didn’t have and don’t particularly like, like red pepper flakes. So I didn’t make that, but it gave me the idea for what I did make

Yep, that and the pasta of your choice is all you need!  I cooked whole wheat spaghetti until al dente, then I added the above ingredients to taste while the pasta was still hot and stirred it all together. I didn’t take a picture of the finished product because it wasn’t much to look at, but it sure tasted good. I liked this even better than the gnocchi dish! Granted, it’s not very filling. But that’s why God invented side dishes and dessert! This would also taste great with pine nuts. but only if you already have them on hand! 😉 Enjoy!

P.S. Whenever I make spaghetti, I make more pasta than I need because there’s always enough sauce for one or two more servings. You can do that with this dish as well, but you’ll want to reheat the pasta with a little water since there’s no actual sauce to warm it up with. Rubbery spaghetti is not good!

XO,
V

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes by Vanessa

One response to “Eating Simply: Day 2

  1. Pingback: Change Is Good « L'épice de la Vie

Leave a Reply

