A Thousand Times Yes

As you may (or may not) have gleaned from the blog, I’m getting married to my best friend! While I don’t know the When (the military is so wonderfully…obtuse) I do know the Where (I will post Where, after my wedding along with details for those out there who are looking for locations/ideas)

For now you’ll just have to settle for the proposal story!

I’ve relayed it to my nearest and dearest, but I had yet to sit down and pen the story.

A bit of backstory, for the month leading up to the proposal I was suspicious. I am a very curious person by nature and I kept searching for any hint of an impending “will you marry me?”

We’d gone ring shopping and talked about the future on a near daily basis. It was an accepted fact that we would be spending the rest of our lives together…we just had one tiny, miniscule, minute detail left.

Here are 3 confessions:

1. About 3 weeks before he proposed I painted my nails, cause I thought he might do it that weekend and I wanted “pretty” nails for the photos. (Note: if you want pretty nails, pay a professional to do them!)

2. 2 weeks before he proposed, I wore a rubber band wrapped around my ring finger while at work.

3. The week he proposed, I figured it wasn’t going to happen this year.

The Proposal:

Ryan cued his texting early in the morning with the usual, “Good morning!” and “Brr it’s cold!” He proceeded to go into detail about how he had to close the windows and turn on the heat due to the chilly weather. Random, but not unusual.

I headed over to his apartment after work and upon walking in the front door I was greeted with a hand over my eyes. He led me into his room and when I asked “Why the blindfold?!” he managed to come up with a plausible excuse. However, my curiosity had been piqued. Previously in the week we’d decided to celebrate Christmas a little early and I was able to open a few gifts, none of which contained a ring. I covertly began examining his room for signs of any possible ring boxes/hiding places, but nothing looked out of place. We discussed our evening and had previously agreed to go look at the local Christmas light display. He casually mentioned that he had another gift for me but it was nothing big, so to make it more exciting he had created a scavenger hunt for me.

DING DING DING!! I knew something was up!

And just as I was doing a happy dance in my head he said, “And tomorrow I figured we could go into the city and go ring shopping.”

WHAT?! 

I mean, sure, I’d changed my mind about the original ring stone (emerald to diamond) and yes, maybe I had played around with a solitaire versus 3 stone setting, but didn’t my wishy-washy lack of decision on a ring give him enough to go on?!  We’d found one at Kay Jewelers and, while it wasn’t my dream ring, it would get the job done!

Note: Ryan doesn’t have a sneaky bone in his body and he is the WORST liar in the world, so after he said we would go ring shopping, I had no reason NOT to believe him.

We headed for the light festival and I took some cute (albeit, blurry) photos

He told me that his roommate was going to set up the scavenger hunt in our absence and when we had finished we had to wait for the “all clear” before heading back. We went in the apartment and I saw the cutest penguin door poster covering the patio door.

I received my first clue and dashed about the apartment (there were only 4) and the final one read, “____ knows the next clue” (___ is the roommate)

I knocked on the roommate’s door and asked, “What’s the last clue?” He replied, “Go to the patio”

Ryan had been following me around the whole time and he wasn’t acting suspicious and I didn’t notice any ring-box shaped bulges.

I opened the door and saw the balcony completely decked out in Christmas lights and garland. It was amazing! I initally thought this was the gift, because I LOVE all things Christmas decor. Ryan had previously asked me if I wanted to decorate the apartment and since we didn’t have tables or a regular sized tree I said no, but I suggested decorating the patio. My idea was promptly shot down because 2 men living in an apartment with a fully decorated Christmas balcony wasn’t going to fly.

So when I opened the door and saw the gorgeous decor I was SO happy that he had done it all,  just for me! There were candles on the railing and on the arms of the chairs, which added a romantic feel but I still didn’t think this was the moment.

I gave him many hugs and said over and over how much I loved it, and then he said, “I think there’s one more clue.”

I looked around and spotted a piece of paper attached to the wreath hanging from the door. I tentatively opened it and read, “In my pocket.”

I turned around to see Ryan fumbling with a side pocket on his pants, still I didn’t know if this was it or not. I remember thinking, “Maybe it’s jelly beans?” since he had yet to get down on one knee.

But the fumbling became more controlled and he began telling me how much he loved me and how special I was to him, all while slowly lowering down to one knee.
His wasn’t a prepared speech, it was truly heartfelt and unrehearsed. It was 100% in the moment and I knew he honestly meant every word.

I began to cry and couldn’t control the huge grin taking over my face. Even though his speech wasn’t long, I can remember thinking, “Hurry up cause I want to say YES!!!”

It was absolutely perfect.

There was no audience, no unnecessary pomp and circumstance, just an honest and heartfelt declaration of love and devotion.

And when he asked me, “Brittany, will you do me the honor of being my wife?”

All I could say was, “Yes. Yes. A thousand times, yes.”

Have a great week,

-Brittany

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “A Thousand Times Yes

  1. Lisa

    Congratulations, Brittany!

  2. Kristen Stalica

    I adored this story.

Leave a Reply

