Imitation Butterfingers

First up, today’s “eating simply” menu was super short so I didn’t want to devote a whole post to that

Breakfast: Reduced sugar apples and cinnamon instant oatmeal

Lunch: A White Chicken Pizza Lean Pocket (I did buy these at the store yesterday, but I was running really low on supplies and I knew I could finish them off by next Monday)

Dinner: Leftover Best Ever Macaroni & Cheese from the freezer.

*Side note* If you find that you rarely freeze leftovers because they don’t taste right, I have a tip for you. Some things just don’t freeze and reheat well, which may be the problem. But it could also be the way you’re reheating them. I used to hate leftovers from the freezer, until I realized that reheating them in the oven works way better than microwaving them. It takes a little longer, but it’s definitely worth it. You can  do a bunch of cooking on the weekend and then have dinner all week that requires nothing more than warming it up! Now, for a new recipe…

This recipe isn’t from Pinterest (at least not directly), but I did try another desert-y creation! And in all fairness, this does count as cleanning out my pantry because I bought the ingredients about a week ago but haven’t had time to assemble them until now 🙂  I got this recipe from Ruthie’s blog. They sounded intriguing and they’re crazy easy to make, so I gave them a shot. These imitation butter fingers are supposed to taste like the real thing. After trying them, I wouldn’t go so far as to say they taste the same. But they are darn good. And really, how can you go wrong when peanut butter and chocolate are involved? These would be a great item to take to a party…Or to just enjoy on your own!

You’ll Need

Cheez-its (I used the big ones because they seemed like they’d be easier to work with)

Peanut butter

Baker’s chocolate

Wax paper

Directions

1. Spread peanut butter between Cheez-its, making as many as you want or have chocolate for

2. Once all your “sandwiches” are assembled, melt the chocolate (I don’t have a picture because stupid WordPress keeps turning it sideways, but I used the Baker’s brand chocolate that comes in a microwaveable cup. It was perfect for this recipe)

3. Dip one end of the Cheez-it sandwich in chocolate and place on a wax paper lined cookie sheet (you could also dip the whole thing, but this way is much faster and less messy)

4. Once you’ve dipped all of the Cheez-its, place the cookie sheet in the fridge or freezer until chocolate is hardened. You can eat them right away, but I personally prefer them at room temperature. Enjoy, they won’t last long!
Tip: They’ll get hard quickly, especially in the freezer. But leave them in a little longer than you think is necessary or the chocolate will get soft as it comes to room temperature. Once they’re fully hardened, transfer to a container lined with clean wax paper.

XO,
V

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes by Vanessa

Leave a Reply

