Cupcake Catastrophe

First, enjoy the most hilarious picture of my dog. Suffice it to say, he was not a fan of the post-Christmas clearance at Petco. Suffice it to say, he may now be the ~proud~ owner of a Santa hat with attached beard AND an elf ensemble that could double as a leprechaun outfit.

His eyes say, “The door is so close, and yet, so far away…” It’s sad because they actually look like his ears…

Now to my reason for posting….I’ve been trying to make cupcakes for the past 2 weekends. WITH NO SUCCESS.

I thought it might be the recipe, I thought it might be the flour…never once did I think it might be the most obvious culprit of all!!

That’s right folks, OVERMIXING! (For those of you who thought “Brittany” you should be ashamed!)

Remember how excited I was about my hand mixer? While it has its uses for creaming butter and sugar it is a bit too overzealous when the flour and cocoa powder is added in. The first batch were more like muffins, dense, thick but still good. The second batch were…well…a total, terrible, catastrophe. I threw the whole batch away.

I found a new recipe, one that called for baking powder. I don’t have baking powder. I’d already messed up 2 batches and it was getting late. So I head to CVS and I’m standing in the aisle staring at the most overpriced tin of baking powder and I see a box of chocolate cake mix.

It’s cheaper than the baking powder.

It doesn’t hurt to have a back up…right?

This coming weekend I shall tackle the cupcake recipe again and this time I will let my beloved hand mixer take a break.

But I can’t say it was a total loss.

I made the most delicious Coconut buttercream frosting… and the great thing about buttercream frosting is that you can freeze it and save it for the day when you finally master the cupcake recipe!!

Coconut Buttercream Frosting

-1 tsp coconut extract

-1/2 tsp vanilla extract

-3 cups powdered sugar

-1 stick butter

-3 TBS of whipping cream (or milk)

-1/3 cup shredded coconut (sweetened or unsweetened)

Using a hand mixer, blend the vanilla and coconut extract into the butter along with a TB of cream and a cup of sugar. Continue to add the remaining cups of sugar and TBs of cream until you reach a spreadable consistency.  Add in the coconut until just combined.

Use the finished product to decorate cakes, cupcakes, cookies, your finger…whatever springs to mind!

While baking may not be my forte, it is something I am determined to master. It’s good to have goals and I think 2012 will be the year of the cake!

 

What have been your biggest baking flops?

Have a great weekend! I will let you know how this next batch of cupcakes turns out!

-Brittany

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Cupcake Catastrophe

  1. Pingback: Cupcakes CONQUERED! « L'épice de la Vie

Leave a Reply

