Change Can Be Good

I’m back! It’s been a crazy few days, and I’m on quite an emotional roller coaster as moving day gets closer and closer. In the meantime, I’ve had a couple small fun changes.

As I mentioned, I’m staying at my parents’ house until I move for good. There are definite downsides to this, as my parents and I are both quite used to our privacy. But there are good things too, one of them being my mom and her kitchen! I did cook dinner last night because it was one of the days that my mom had to make her hour round trip to a nearby city to help out her parents (I made Hearty Vegetarian Pasta). But the rest of the time, my mom cooks dinner and you know I’m enjoying it! (both her cooking and not having to do the cooking myself. Haha!). I’m also taking full advantage of her huge and very well stocked kitchen. Remember my pasta creation from day 2 of Eating Simply? Well I recreated that for lunch yesterday. But this time I used this amazing tuscan herb infused olive oil my mom has (I meant to go to this specialty store where she gets it and buy my own bottle, but it never happened and now I couldn’t move it with me) and added pine nuts. Holy yum! I definitely need to find some flavored olive oil somewhere in my new city.

Also, my new phone arrived today! My iPhone 3GS is the first cell phone I’ve ever had that hasn’t started dying a slow and painful death more than a year before I’m eligible for an upgrade. Score! However, it has started showing its age recently. So I decided to upgrade to the  iPhone 4S before I left so I would have reliable means of communication when I’m in a brand new city all by myself, and so that I can keep my current number. I love it!

Yes, the case is cheetah print. Why are you surprised ;p

Finally, I dyed my hair tonight! I’ve had blonde highlights and dyed my hair red in the past (I LOVE my hair red but red dye fades super fast and is expensive to maintain). But it’s been a long time since I changed my hair color. I was looking in the mirror the other day and noticed how blah my natural hair color is. But I don’t have the time or the money to keep up a professional dye job right now. And then I thought, why don’t I buy a store bought dye? In the past I never trusted them, and preferred to have a professional do it. But I know a lot of people who dye their own hair and it looks great. So I enlisted my mom’s help. I didn’t want to attempt dyeing my own hair for the first time, but I trusted her. I bought John Freida precision foam color because my mom’s best friend had recently used that to dye her daughter’s hair and they really liked it. I wasn’t looking to go blonde or anything, I just wanted a darker richer shade of brown. So I bought the color called dark chocolate brown. I was really hoping it would turn out well, because i tried to go darker once before and it ended up looking exactly the same. Here’s a before shot:

Please ignore the frizzy hair, I figured I shouldn't use any styling product right before dyeing it

And here’s the after shot:

Exactly what I wanted!

I took these pictures all by myself with my new phone’s front facing camera 🙂 There are a lot of really big changes coming in less than a week, so I’m enjoying these minor ones while I can.

Question of the night: Are you one of those people who loves change, or do you avoid it whenever possible?

XO,
V

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

