Semi-scratch cookies

As much as I love to bake delicious goodies from scratch, I do think there is a time and place for relying on the box (or bag) mix. BUT that doesn’t mean that you can’t tweak it to make it taste homemade!

This whole ordeal started around Thanksgiving when we were at the commissary searching for our weekend grub. I spied a bag of Pumpkin Spice cookie mix. During the weeks before Thanksgiving, I’m a pumpkin spice fanatic. If they sold pumpkin spice floss I’d buy it! (Once Thanksgiving is over I give in to my other love, peppermint bark!)

So I spied these on the tippy top shelf and rather than do the sensible thing and wait for my 6-foot-something fiance to assist me, I decide to get them myself. My own personal Everest. In the baking goods aisle. Challenge. Accepted.

I managed to get them down without knocking everything else off the shelf. It was a Thanksgiving miracle, folks!

But this bag of cookie mix that I scaled mountains for, wasn’t actually used until LAST NIGHT. Whoops. It was hidden behind the powdered sugar and white balsamic vinegar…I need to re-organize Ryan’s kitchen….

Ok, back to the recipe!

Semi-Scratch Oatmeal Pumpkin Spice Cookies

1. Start with one bag of Pumpkin Spice cookie mix (Pictured above.) Preheat your oven to 375 or 350 (depending on your cookie sheet being nonstick/dark)

2. Follow the directions on the back of the bag: Add 1 stick of room temperature butter and 1 egg (per bag instructions)

3. Then add 1/4 cup of quick cooking oats, 4 TBS water (the recipe calls for 2 but you’ll need 2 more for a total of 4 TBS), Add 1 generous TB of coconut oil (in solid state)  1/4 tsp of vanilla extract and a shake of cinnamon.

4. Mix until combined and follow baking instructions on bag.

They will come out DELICIOUS and warm and chewy!!

Ryan loved them. I loved them. They have a somewhat cake-y texture when they are warm and melt in your mouth. The edges were nice and crispy with a softer center! Basically, everything I look for in a good cookie.

I’d share a picture of the final product…but we REALLY liked them…

Do yourself a favor and pick up a bag of this cookie mix in the stores!

***You could also do the same with their Chocolate Chip cookie mix! Adding my additional ingredients would make for a fabulous Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookie ingredients!***

Have a great week!!

-Brittany

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Semi-scratch cookies

  1. Erin

    I bought these in October and they’ve been sitting in my pantry ever since! Hahaha! No judgement. 🙂

Leave a Reply

