Review: Ben & Jerry’s Frozen Greek Yogurt

*Gasp* I’m posting a new entry and it has been less than a month since my last one! 😉 But I tried a new product while I was in Indiana, so I thought I’d do a review post.

I love greek yogurt and I love Ben & Jerry’s ice cream. So when I saw an ad in a magazine for Ben & Jerry’s new frozen greek yogurt, I definitely wanted to try it. What’s not to love, right?! But I don’t go to the grocery store as often as I used too and you’re not necessarily going to find this at every store that carries Ben & Jerry’s ice cream.  While I was home for graduation though, I had a chance to check Fresh Market (like Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s except much smaller and not as well stocked) and I found it. Unfortunately, the only flavor they had left was strawberry short cake (it also comes in peanut butter banana, blueberry vanilla graham, and raspberry fudge chunk) but I decided to try it.

So here’s what I thought: It’s made by Ben & Jerry’s, so of course it tastes good, and the flavors are reliably unique. but that’s where the pro’s stop. My mom and I both agreed that in a blind taste test, you’d be hard pressed to distinguish it from regular ice cream. it’s not that much creamier. And aside from that, I discovered that it has 50 more calories than a regular ice cream we already had in our freezer and significantly more sugar as well (for the same tiny recommended serving size). I might buy it again if I find the peanut butter banana flavor just because it sounds delicious. But other than that,  at $5 a pint for more sugar, more calories, and none of the health benefits of greek yogurt, I think I’ll stick with regular ice cream.

Question of the night: Have you tried frozen greek yogurt?

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

