God Bless Pinterest

Lately I’ve been cooking up a storm in the kitchen. And it’s not like I have a lot of spare time, what with the impending move (I’m not moving to Virginia until mid February, but due to the timing of my current lease, I have to move out at the end of this month. I’ll be living with my parents between the two moves).  And my (final!!) semester started yesterday. Maybe it’s nesting in reverse? LOL. More likely, it’s a combination of my newfound love of Pinterest and a way to destress. Compared to Tuesday’s Dr. Pepper Cupcakes, this recipe was a complete success! It was also considerable easier. LOL. but nevermind that, when you see what I have in store for you today, you’ll know why this post is titled “God Bless Pinterest!”

Just For Eating Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough

The genius behind this recipe created an egg-less chocolate chip cookie dough meant specifically for eating…Do you hear that? It sounds like angels singing 😉 I mean who doesn’t love raw cookie dough? Truth be told, the risk of eating raw eggs never deterred me much from eating raw cookie dough (or brownie batter, or cupcake batter…). But I never bought or prepared cookie dough just for eating. And this way, you’re not risking anything! And oh my goodness does this taste like the real thing! I checked a recipe for chocolate chip cookies to refresh my memory, and realized that other than eggs and a few other ingredients, this recipe isn’t much different. Here’s the original recipe, which also includes safe to eat recipes for sugar cookie dough and cake batter cookie dough. I decided to go with basic chocolate chip cookie dough this time, but I’ll definitely try the others some time!

*Disclaimer* Studies have found that raw eggs are not the only ingredient that makes eating raw cookie dough risky. If contaminated, eating raw flour can lead to E. coli poisoning. Eat at your own risk.

You’ll Need

1/2 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
1 cup all-purpose flour
Pinch of salt (the recipe calls for 1/2 a teaspoon but warns that some people find this too salty. I just added a pinch and it was perfect)
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
Water (The recipe says to add water slowly until you get the right consistency. the first time I made this, it was perfect. The second time it needed a few tablespoons of water. I have no idea why)

Directions

1. beat together the sugar and butter

2. Add all other ingredients and mix well. Then enjoy!

This made way more than I needed for just myself, but you could always halve the recipe or refrigerate the leftovers 🙂

XO,
V

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes by Vanessa

Leave a comment